2012 State ISSF Titles Melbourne Gun Club - April 13th to 15th Report By Craig Henwood
The 2012 Victorian State ISSF Titles were again hosted by The Melbourne Gun Club this time at a new date of  April 13-15. With 3 days of great weather, great targets and great competition the move to Melbourne’s Autumn  seemed to be popular with most shooters. Although the Titles were not granted PQS this year entries were still on a par with previous years and a great carnival was enjoyed by all who attended. DOUBLE TRAP Friday the 13th is an unlucky date for some but not for Craig Trembath who held a commanding lead going into  the State Double Trap Final. Craig shot excellent rounds of 44, 50, 48 to lead on a great score of 142/150. Next to  go into the final was Nick Kirley on 130, Steve Haberman 125, Junior Geoff Aston on 124, Chris Brown 113 &  Melbourne Gun Club President Roger Esplin completed the top 6 on a score of 110. Stretching his lead even further with a great final of 47/50 to Craig Trembath saw him become the 2012 Victorian  State Double Trap Champion on 189/200. Final results were: Overall Craig Trembath 189/200 AA Grade Nick Kirley 130/150 A Grade Geoff Aston 124/150 B Grade Matt Woods 109/150 C Grade Chris Brown 113/150 Junior Geoff Aston 124/150 State Open Postal Team: Nick Kirley, Craig Trembath, Steve Haberman, Geoff Aston, Roger Esplin, Chris Brown. State Shoulder To Shoulder Team: Craig Trembath, Nick Kirley, Steve Haberman. SKEET Held on Saturday the 14th the Skeet boys battled it out on an overcast morning that turned out to be a great  afternoon then becoming breezy as the day progressed. Daniel Egan set the pace with a great 25 in his first round but he was slowly reeled in by James Bolding who went  into the final in first spot with 115/125 just in front of David Cunningham on 113/125. Daniel Egan held on for a  great 112, with Tony Scapin 103, with Brett Davis 97 and Bradley Carey 96 making the final.  In the final James Bolding just managed to hold on by 1 tgt from  David Cunningham to end on 135/150.  Final results were: Overall James Bolding  135/150 AA Grade  David Cunningham  113/125 A Grade Tony Scapin 103/125 B Grade Daniel Egan 112/125 State Open Postal Team: Daneil Egan, James Bolding, David Cunningham, Tony Scapin, Brett Davis, Bradley Carey State Shoulder to Shoulder Team: James Bolding, David Cunningham, Daniel Egan. TRAP Nine squads of Trap had entered and the women kicked things off on the Trap layouts with 11 ladies vying for the  title which came right down to the wire. Catherine Skinner & Anna Shedrina lead with 65/75, Michelle Beecham &  Tania Burke on 56, Amanda Holt & Gemma Dunn rounded out the final.  We saw some great scores in single barrel including Gemma Dunn in her first ever final shooting a great 20 (new  Perazzi working well) but Anna & Catherine were still deadlocked and a sudden death shoot off was required. Shot for shot the 2 girls went until the 4th target got away from Anna. Catherine held her nerve and smoked it to  become the 2012 State Ladies Champion. Final results were: Overall Catherine Skinner 83/100 + 4 Second Anna Shedrina 83/100 + 3 Third Michelle Beecham 74/100 Ladies Postal Team: Anna Shedrina, Catherine Skinner, Michelle Beecham, Tania Burke Ladies Shoulder to Shoulder Team: Catherine Skinner, Anna Shedrina, Michelle Beecham Day 1 of the Mens saw a tough battle. Brett Dunstan was the first to put “red ink” on the board in his first round.  Others to post 25’s for the day were Adam Vella, Craig Henwood & Todd Malone. At the completion of Day 1 we  saw Adam Vella on a great 73/75, Jeff Tonna not far behind on 72, Craig Henwood 71 & Brett Dunstan on 70.  Could Adam Vella’s dominance in this event in recent years continue?  Day 2 and the weather was perfect, hardly a breath of wind and clear blue skies. Adam had made his intentions  clear by putting a clean round in followed by a 23 to finish on 121/125 and have a 3 tgt lead over Jeff Tonna on  118. Brett Dunstan 115, Craig Henwood 113, Todd Malone 113 & Talih Boukahmel all competed in the final.  Special mention to Talih who missed his squad first round and even with a 3 tgt deduction was still good enough  to qualify for the final.  Shooting flash targets, a good crowd stayed back to watch and what a show they got to witness. Jeff Tonna  holding his nerve to shoot a great 24/25 single barrel nudged out Adam Vella by 1 tgt. Brett Dunstan not to be  outdone came home strong with a fantastic 25/25 in the final for 3rd overall and a spot in the Victorian team.  Final results were: Overall Jeff Tonna 142/150 AA Grade Adam Vella 121/125 1st A Grade Brett Dunstan 115/125 2nd A Grade Todd Malone 113/125 + 3 1st B Grade Anna Shedrina 108/125 2nd B Grade Neil Cracknell 106/125 1st C Grade Ivan Borbas 79/125 2nd C Grade Claire Watts 76/125 1st Junior Josh Collard 109/125 2nd Junior Jack Wallace 104/125 Junior Postal Team: Jack Wallace, Josh Collard, Jack Collicoat, Alexander Sibillis Open Postal Team: Adam Vella, Craig Henwood, Jeff Tonna, Brett Dunstan, Nidal Asmar, Todd Malone Open Shoulder to Shoulder Team: Jeff Tonna, Adam Vella, Brett Dunstan This concluded the 2012 State ISSF Titles and a few thank you’s must be mentioned. Firstly to the officials being  Peter & Jean Wray, Judith Kent & Ian Urch for all of their tireless work over the weekend. A Special mention must  be made to Ian Urch and Paul Watts who together refereed and scored all rounds of the skeet, a big thank you  from everyone.   Melbourne Gun Club committee and members for presenting the grounds, setting targets and all the hard work  that goes into running a successful carnival and a big thank you to all shooters who attended to make the carnival  the success it was. Finally, thanks to our Webmaster, Ivan Spiller, who, as usual, had the results on the website so promptly.  Good luck to all shooters who have qualified for the State Teams we are sure you will represent Victoria at the  Nationals in January 2013 with pride. We look forward to seeing you all for the 2013 Victorian State ISSF Titles –  dates yet to be advised.
Brett Dunstan (A grade Mens Trap) after shooting a great 25 in the final Ladies Trap Winners - Michelle Beecham (3rd), Catherine Skinner (1st), Anna Shedrina (2nd) Skeet winners - Tony Scapin (A grade), James Bolding (overall) & Daniel Egan (B grade) Open Trap - Jeff Tonna (Overall) with Josh Collard (Junior Winner) Open Trap Winner - Jeff Tonna hitting his last target to win the 2012 Trap Title
Click thumbnail to enlarge
Double Trap Winners - Nick Kirley (AA grade), Craig Trembath (Overall), Geoff Aston (Jnr & A grade), Matt Woods (B grade)& Chris Brown (C grade)
Click on the small images to enlarge
Page design by Ivan Spiller